Upcoming FREE ICG Webinar: “Reimagining Math, Reaching All Students”

January 30, 2017
The ICG’s 2016-17 webinar menu continues with an exciting offering next week:
WEDNESDAY, February 22 at 3:30pm ET/2:30pm CT/1:30pm MT/12:30PM PT
Reimagining Math, Reaching All Students,” presented by Henri Picciotto. As everyone knows, students learn math at different rates. What should we do about it? Traditional responses are tracking, acceleration, and individualization. Still, all classes are heterogeneous. I will present the non-traditional response I developed in my 42 years in the classroom and 30 years as department chair in a school with no tracking. This involves a two-prong strategy. First, some relatively easy to implement structural practices: lagging homework, separating related topics, and alternative assessments. These practices can be introduced immediately, they take no extra time, and they help create an environment that supports a growth mindset. Second, some more demanding changes, including a pruning of the curriculum and a tool-rich pedagogy, using among other things manipulatives and technology. Henri Picciotto is a nationally known math education consultant, author, and the past director of the Center for Innovative Teaching at the Urban School of San Francisco.
CLICK HERE for information and registration
Show Buttons
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Google Plus
Share On Linkedin
Hide Buttons